Static and Dynamic Technologies

MD5Assgn1gaviolak

There are a number of technologies we can use to enable learning and that list keeps growing. As Professor Moller states ”the instructor or instructional designer must make decisions regarding which technology to use to achieve specific learning outcomes” (Moller 2008).   I believe that there is room within the learning process for both static and dynamic technologies, which is why the continuum exists.

The static side is a great source for learners to gain initial knowledge or find relevant and pertinent information about a subject. The use of static technology supports the early stages of learning. Static technology is also a great reference source for those who have mastery.

The dynamic side of the continuum allows learners to gain a deeper understanding and mastery of the subject or process they are exploring. By manipulating the content and working with the new knowledge the learner is able to grow in their understanding of the concepts.

These technologies are used to support different stages of learning and I do not think we abandon one for another. This thought leads me to believe that I am toward the middle of this continuum. The static side of the continuum is used more often; therefore I have more exposure to the type of learning. For that reason I do need to develop ways to add dynamic learning techniques into instruction.

I attempt this whenever presented with a project. I try to assess what is needed to achieve the learning outcome and create learning that is reflective of this goal. That might mean starting with static learning to introduce a concept, then adding more dynamic elements to reinforce the learning experience.

It is interesting to me that Professor Moller identifies a middle ground. One of these technologies is the Learning Management System (LMS). This tool takes many forms and has many different types of user interface. The LMS, in my mind, can house the entire spectrum and I found it difficult to add it to my graphic; although I think it plays a key role in our current conception of online learning.

Reference:

Moller, L. (2008). Static and dynamic technological tools. [Unpublished Paper].

Blogs I posted to:

https://elizabethhurleyblog.wordpress.com

http://alperdistanceeducation.blogspot.com

One thought on “Static and Dynamic Technologies”

  1. Kayle, I enjoyed reading your post and agree with you about static and dynamic technologies. I too seem to use the static technologies more than the dynamic technologies. These are the technologies that I used when I began taking courses online. Static technologies is what started they way we learn online, but now dynamic technologies seem to be making there way to the front of the line. I think it is important to include both technologies in an online learning environment. I do believe; however, that as online instructors including more dynamic technologies in our online learning environment will benefit the student and ourselves more.

    Tracy

    Like

Leave a Reply

